Areas of Focus

Additional Activities of the IKG Vienna

Austrian Citizenship

For more than ten years the IKG Vienna has been fielding increasing number of requests regarding the restoration and/or granting, and in particular the transfer, of Austrian citizenship. Austrian Holocaust survivors and their descendants maintain an interest in having Austrian citizenship reinstated to their families. For that reason the IKG Vienna has been an active advocate of improvements to statutory citizenship provisions for victims of National-Socialist persecution and their descendants.

Austrian law currently provides for two "naturalization options" for Austrian victims of National-Socialist persecution:

Information sheets available for downloading

According to the currently prevailing – and unsatisfactory – legislation, descendants of Austrian citizens only have the option of submitting an application for the determination of Austrian citizenship. In this context, the application is examined – in an often extensive, time-consuming and arduous process – to determine whether the claimant had either previously held or obtained Austrian citizenship, had lost it since or still held Austrian citizenship today.

The IKG Vienna's demands and proposals for improving citizenship legislation were not taken into account in the 2005 amendment to the citizenship laws and are still pending implementation. The following points - with regards to Austrian Holocaust survivors and their descendants – would require an amendment to the current citizenship laws and therefore a broad statutory regulation:

Schwerpunkte

Anliegen der IKG Wien

Österreichische StaatsbÜrgerschaft

Seit mehr als zehn Jahren werden an die IKG Wien zunehmend Anfragen bezüglich (Wieder-)Erlangung und im Speziellen betreffend Weitergabe der österreichischen Staatsbürgerschaft herangetragen. Die österreichischen Holocaust-Überlebenden und deren Nachkommen haben Interesse daran, dass die österreichische Staatsbürgerschaft an ihre Familien restituiert wird. Die IKG Wien setzt sich daher seit vielen Jahren für die Verbesserung von Staatsbürgerschaftsbestimmungen für NS-Verfolgte und deren Nachkommen ein.

Für österreichische NS-Verfolgte sieht das Gesetz derzeit zwei „Einbürgerungsmöglichkeiten“ vor:

Info-Blätter zum Download

Nach der derzeitigen – unbefriedigenden – Rechtslage besteht für Nachkommen von österreichischen StaatsbürgerInnen nur die Möglichkeit, einen Antrag auf Feststellung der österreichischen Staatsbürgerschaft zu stellen, im Rahmen dessen – oft aufwendig, langwierig und mühsam – geprüft wird, ob diese zunächst besessen oder erworben wurde, ob seitdem der Verlust eingetreten ist oder ob die österreichische Staatsbürgerschaft noch heute besessen wird.

Die Forderungen und Verbesserungsvorschläge der IKG Wien zur Staatsbürgerschaft wurden in der Staatsbürgerschaftsrechts-Novelle 2005 nicht berücksichtigt und harren nach wie vor einer Umsetzung. Folgende Punkte bedürfen – im Sinne der österreichischen Holocaust-Überlebenden und deren Nachkommen – einer Novelle des Staatsbürgerschaftsrechts und damit einer großzügigen gesetzlichen Regelung: